CBBH Challenge: The simple pleasures of living in central Portugal

It doesn’t take a great deal to make me happy. Blue skies and sunshine are often enough to do the trick, which is partly why I like living in Portugal so much. It’s not always lovely weather here but more often than not, it’s good enough for me.

Other little things that give me pleasure range from finding unfamiliar flowers while walking the dog to the delights of exploring Portugal with my family and friends. Prompted by Marianne’s monthly photo challenge, Simple Pleasures, I’ve put together a selection of just a few joyous moments and my favourite things about living here. Just click on an image for more information.

Part of the Conejo Blanco Blog Hop involves introducing two new bloggers to you.

I’ll start with Leane Cole Photography who I’ve recently started following. Not only is her photography excellent, she also explains the editing process she’s undertaken to achieve certain images which is really useful, especially for someone like me who’s still muddling through the basics of photography and editing.

Next up is Cat Mills from Wicked and Weird Around the World. Collator of all bizarre festivals and events, she will brighten your day with global oddities.

Related posts:

Why I enjoy living in Moura Morta

Introducing my new favourite river beach, Ilha do Picoto in Avô

O is for olives

I is for ice cream!

If you liked this post and want to make sure you don’t miss any future ones, just leave your name and email address to subscribe to my blog.

7 responses to “CBBH Challenge: The simple pleasures of living in central Portugal

  1. Perfectly captured, Julie – especially the double rainbow! Gorgeous! I always love to be able to rescue a tiny, baby gecko – they are so delicate and almost see-through, aren’t they?

    I have learned a lot from Leanne’s blog – she is such a talented photographer, but now is the time for me to HOP over to the other link you have shared.

    Great entry, Julie. Well done :)

  2. Looking at those makes me want to buy a plane ticket and join you. Not just for the ice-cream sundaes, but for the verdant green countryside and because I think you and I have similar ideas of what constitutes beauty.
    We’re still waiting for significant snow in my little patch of Canada, but the cold temperatures have turned the grass brown, as they do every year. The landscape is pretty bleak right now…

    • I feel for you – I understand the need for green. I remember moving to Manchester and insisting that our flat had a view of at least one tree so that I could get my green fix! Now, I have hundreds of evergreens surrounding me so I can’t complain.

      The grass in Portugal gets pretty scorched and brown in the summer but the autumn rains give everything a new lease of life.

      I don’t especially envy you the cold and snow of Canada but I’m sure the whiteness can be quite dramatic and beautiful – unlike the drabness you’ve got right now.

      • Yes, snow never fails to imbue a magical feel, perhaps it’s the way it falls in slow motion or the crystal stillness it gives a scene. Anyway, winter without it is just pants!

Please leave a comment

